The purpose of the IFBF is to raise the profile of flow batteries as a crucial technology within the electrical energy storage sector. We believe this is timely and relevant as the need to educate and inform a wide audience of the benefits, features and attributes of flow batteries.

Electricity storage technologies are attracting increasing levels of interest, both from those who manage the world’s power systems and from those who invest in plant and equipment, manufacturing, project development and asset operation as well as those who are end consumers of electrical power. There has been a notable growth in electrical energy storage, especially for battery-based systems. However, with a variety of battery technology types on offer to the market, it is vital to ensure that the benefits of flow battery systems are recognised and understood; and that purchasers and users of battery-based electrical energy storage technologies make wise choices in the market place.

Each year our agenda is guided by the proposals from delegates for presentations and posters, and we are pleased to offer a mix of topics ranging from the latest commercial developments in flow battery projects, supply of raw materials and components as well as the latest research from laboratories, universities and public and private companies from around the world for discussion in the conference. We have presentations on a range of chemistries and configurations, discuss current and future applications as well as holding discussions on commercialisation and research and development priorities.

We hope you will join us in Düsseldorf.

2020 Organising committee

Honorary Chairman: Professor Maria Skyllas-Kazacos AM

Len Berlouis, Thomas Beyer, Declan Bryans, Burak Caglar, Guillaume Chazalet, Antoni Forner-Cuenca, Mathieu Etienne, Raquel Ferret, Peter Fischer, Jan Girshik, Lorenz Gubler, Theresa Haish, Crispin Hawes, Irwansyah, Ashkan Kavei, Michael Kuttinger, George Law, Robert Lynch, Chris Menictas, Nicolas Murer, Jens Noack, Melanie Schroeder, Thorsten Seipp, Kathryn Toghill, Baoguo Wang, Claudia Weidlich, Adam Whitehead, Ian Whyte, Rachis Zaffou, Huamin Zhang, Susanne Zils

Industry Advisory Group:
Bret Adams, Kevin Bradley, Mathilde Cazot, Matthias Gebert, Thibault Godet-Bar, Thibaut Gutel, John Kaplan, Joseph Martin, Scott McGregor, David Pasquier, Rick Winter, Gary Yang

Secretary: Anthony Price